North Korea and the Power of Science Diplomacy

Georgetown Medical Center, Microbiology and Immunology, Biomedical Graduate Education

Medical and Dental Building, NE301 3900 Reservoir Road, N.W., Washington

April 30, 2018, 10:15 am to 10:15 am

Dr. Norman Neureiter has worked as a research scientist, a science attaché, a business executive and a governmental advisor. He has been awarded multiple state decorations and has received notable awards from the American Chemical Society, the National Academy of Sciences and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Now he serves as the Senior Science Advisor to the nation’s leading science organization, American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS). Last several years, he has been actively working on North Korean peace negotiation through science diplomacy. He will be giving a lecture on “The North Korea and Power of Science Diplomacy”.

Registration: Email Tomoko Y. Steen at [email protected] by May 1st; space is limited. 


In 1963, Dr. Neureiter joined the International Affairs Office of the U.S. National Science Foundation in Washington and managed the U.S.-Japan Cooperative Science Program. Entering the U.S. Foreign Service in 1965, he was named Deputy Scientific Attaché at the U.S. Embassy in Bonn. In 1967, he was transferred to Warsaw as the first U.S. Scientific Attaché in Eastern Europe with responsibility for Poland, Hungary and Czechoslovakia. Dr. Neureiter returned to Washington in 1969 as an Assistant for International Affairs to the President’s Science Advisor in the White House Office of Science and Technology. He also spent 5 years in Tokyo as the Vice President of Texas Instruments Asia. He was appointed in September 2000 as the first Science and Technology Adviser to the U.S. Secretary of State. Finishing this 3-year assignment in 2003, he was made a Distinguished Presidential Fellow for International Affairs at the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. In May 2004, he joined the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) as the first Director of the new AAAS Center for Science, Technology and Security Policy (CSTSP), funded by the MacArthur Foundation.

View Original Invitation.